The Mega Online Bookstore
Welcome Guest | Login | Home | Contact Us | Live Chat

The Crucible A Play in Four Acts

by  Arthur Miller
The Crucible   A Play in Four Acts,0141182555,9780141182551


$ 12.14

$ 9.32
Save $ 2.82

Enquire about this book


Usually Ships in 8 Days.

Ships From New York

Free Shipping within U.S.A

International Shipping?

Check Delivery Estimate and Shipping Cost for your country

Book Information

Publisher:Penguin Classics
Published In:2000
Binding Type:Paperback
Weight:0.36 lbs
Pages:pp. 126

The Title "The Crucible A Play in Four Acts" is written by Arthur Miller. This book was published in the year 2000. The ISBN number 0141182555|9780141182551 is assigned to the Paperback version of this title. This book has total of pp. 126 (Pages). The publisher of this title is Penguin Books. We have about 116346 other great books from this publisher. The Crucible A Play in Four Acts is currently Available with us.

About the Book

Arthur Miller's classic parable of mass hysteria draws a chilling parallel between the Salem witch-hunt of 1692-'one of the strangest and most awful chapters in human history-and the McCarthyism which gripped America in the 1950s. The story of how the small community of Salem is stirred into madness by superstition, paranoia and malice, culminating in a violent climax, is a savage attack on the evils of mindless persecution and the terrifying power of false accusations.

About the Author

Daniel Day ler was born in New York in 1915 and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include All My Sons (1947); Death of a Salesman (1949), which won the Pulitzer Prize and the Drama Critics' Circle Award; The Crucible (1953), which won a Tony Award; A Memory of Two Mondays (1955); A View from the Bridge (1955); After the Fall (1963); Incident at Vichy (1964); The Price (1968); The Archbishop's Ceiling (1977); The American Clock (1980); Playing for Time (1981), which won the Peabody Award; Two-Way Mirror (1985); Danger : Memory! (1986); Ride Down Mount Morgan (1990); The Last Yankee (1992); and Broken Class (1994), which won the Olivier Award for Best Play in 1995. His play The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972) was made into a musical, Up From Paradise, in 1974. His screenplays for film include The Misfits, starring Clark Gable and Marilyn Monroe; and The Crucible, starring Daniel Day Lewis, Winona Ryder and Paul Scofield, which was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Screenplay in 1996.

Arthur Miller has been awarded Honorary Doctorates from Harvard and Oxford Universities. In addition to his works for stage and screen he is also The Author of Focus, a novel; Don't Need You Anymore, a collection of short stories; and Plain Girl, a short work of prose fiction. In collaboration with his wife, the photographer Inge Morath, he has published In Russia (1969); In the Country (1977); Chinese Encounters (1979); and Salesman in Beijing (1984), based on his experience directing a production of Death of a Salesman in China. His autobiography, Time Bends, was published in 1987.


A Note on the Historical Accuracy of This Play

1. Act One (An Overture)
2. Act Two
3. Act Three
4. Act Four

Echoes Down the Corridor